Life according to Stephanie

Just another WordPress.com site

Man in the Elevator October 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephanieayers @ 6:29 pm

So this past Friday was an interesting Friday for many different reasons, but one reason I would like to share with all of you stuck out to me. I happen to be out in Riverside, and the building I was in had elevators…. I rode up the elevator to the 4th floor and took a seat in the waiting area…… Some time had passed and I see two men walk out of the elevator. One man says to the other who was standing outside the elevator after getting off of it, “You get off on the wrong floor?” The man replies, “Oh no, I’m waiting for someone to go up.” So my first thought as I was eavesdropping on this conversations was…he is waiting to meet someone on the 4th floor before he goes anywhere else.

 

 

Some time passes, and mind you we are in this building pretty early and not many people are coming and going let alone in the elevators! He takes a step forward as each elevator stops at the 4th floor, looks inside the elevator…. it empties out and he says under his breath “ah shoot.” After about 3 elevators opening, emptying and closing I realize he isn’t waiting for a specific person to go up he is just waiting for anyone to ride up with! After a few minutes of watching him I realize this grown man, probably in his 30’s is scared to ride in an elevator by himself! The man he rode up with was only going to the 4th floor so that’s why he had gotten out! I look at this man and ask him, “Would you like me to ride up with you?” He looks at me with this sheepish grin on his face and says…”If you wouldn’t mind I would really appreciate that.” So here I go up in an elevator with a grown man who is so scared. I told him before we went up…..”If this gets stuck I’m blaming it on you mister.” He says, ” If this this gets stuck you can tell your husband you saw a grown man cry.” LOL So I step into the elevator and this man presses the floor he wants to go to…… the 5th floor!!! I wish I would have had more time in the elevator to chat with this man and find out the meaning behind his fear, but as we rode up that very long ride up to the next floor he looks at me and says, ” Thanks a lot, you should see me in hotels….. I have only been riding elevators for about 3 months now, now you can tell your husband a grown man was scared of riding in an elevator alone.”

As I rode back down from the 5th floor to the 4th floor where I was originally waiting I couldn’t help but smile to myself. And then I was thankful that although I am scared of heights and scared of the dark that I am not scared to ride in an elevator alone. =)

 

One Response to “Man in the Elevator”

  1. Mary Gasca Says:

    As a person who is also afraid to ride elevators alone (although I have, I figure if I can go thru cancer I can ride elevators alone now) you did a very nice thing for this man. I’m sure he won’t ever forget you! Have a great day Steph!!


Leave a Reply

